Start a business with Cambrian House – $0

cambrian house

Today, I attended the Web 2.0 Expo at the Moscone Convention Center in SF. In a nutshell, it was a gathering of online companies – many with dumb names – trying to promote their latest and greatest by luring you in with free t-shirts, candy, and beer. I visited a ton of booths (and got a ton of t-shirts) but usually walked away feeling bored and unimpressed. However, one company by the name of Cambrian House did catch my attention.

Cambrian House dubs themselves as the “home of crowdsourcing”. Crowdsourcing is a term used to describe getting something done using the collective effort of a large group of people usually over the Internet. For example, if I have an idea for a business, I would post it on Cambrian House and find other users to critique, collaborate, and eventually form the business with. The lady at the booth described it as an easy way to get your ideas out in the air and see how people respond. If people like it, you can potentially search within the community to find those who fit the skill-sets needed to execute the idea (partners, programmers, designers, etc.).

To test the effectiveness of Cambrian House, I’ve decided to share an idea that has been brewing in my head for months. I’ve guarded this idea with secrecy and have told only a handful of trusted friends. So here it is folks: Carbon Dating Service. Let me know what you think.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tech, Web

5 Comments on “Start a business with Cambrian House – $0”

  1. Samantha Says:

    If you need t-shirts printed out for your new idea try http://www.thespiritzone.com. They will do your artwork for Free!!!

  2. Desktopjunk Says:

    Thanks, always good posts on your blog!


  3. […] through the Fresh Fodder blog today, I found a fantastic collaboration website for entrepreneurs.  It’s called Cambrian […]

  4. galvanized Says:

    I think the idea is great, and commented it with an twist. And I love Cambrian House. It’s like you can feel the entrepreneurial energy on the site. Did this idea go any further? Looks like you got into IdeaWarz!


  5. Hi thanks for the great information! I love the information on this blog. I have my business plan written up hopefully i can get everything up by the new year.


Leave a Reply

